slowly

I saw huge temples across the river.
They reminded me of Moscow or Kadath in the cold waste.
Something sinister and beautiful by any means, but I thought
it was Toronto or another Canadian city. I don’t know why.
I thought we had to cross the river by boat.
But there was no pier, nothing,
just piles of snow drifting downstream.
At some point the pavement just went underwater.
And a dozen guys with shovels swaggered below the surface.
They talked to each other. One of them said that pigwignitwit
was the name of the berry God loved most of all.
Another one replied it’s BS.
They seemed to gulp something down from plastic bottles.
I don’t think it was air.
Suddenly people near me began to cross the water on foot.
The snow was burning slowly.

The picture was taken on Museum Hill in Santa Fe
[The picture was taken on Museum Hill in Santa Fe.]

Leave a Reply

